Busyness

So, I didn’t get a chance to post anything last week. It was quite busy and I hurriedly rushed through my planned reading. One verse that did stick out in that quick reading was Job 9:10. “Who does great things, unfathomable, And wondrous works without number.” It’s one of those reminder verses for those times when we doubt God or his plan for our lives. It reminds us that He is greater than anything and He can do infinitely more than we ask or imagine. It’s too easy to get caught up in our daily lives and struggles and forget that we have someone who is always looking after us.

I find that I can quickly create a lot of busyness in my life. Reading emails, hanging out on Facebook, watching TV…all things that are generally more in the busyness category than anything meaningful. While meaningful things can occur with emails or even Facebook, I don’t think TV is ever a meaningful way to spend my time. I am in the process of trying to consciously turn off the TV more and more; only watching it for specific shows that I enjoy. I find that if I try to have it on as background noise, I will quickly get caught up in some show or just start flipping through the channels. I have allowed it to take over my living room far too long, to the detriment of both myself and my children.

As the year winds down, I think I need to take a hard look at what I spend my time doing and find ways to restructure it so that the real priorities (God, family, health, home) can take the front seat, where they belong. I need to make new habits and dump the useless busyness that sucks away my life, my energy, and my joy.

Leave a Reply

