Torment and Judgement

Chapter 19 begins with Job talking about the torment and loneliness he feels. He feels that his friends words torment and crush him. He talks about how no one wants to be around him and that he feels God has wronged him. Some verses that really stood out to me were 23 to 25. Verses 23 and 24 say, “O that my words were written down, O that they were written in a scroll, that with an iron chisel and with lead they were engraved in a rock forever!” I’m not sure if, at the time, any of the conversations were being written down at all, but I find it interesting that he wished for his words to be remembered, and that God definitely made sure they were preserved and included in the Bible. I also find verse 25 interesting as well. It says, “As for me, I know that my Redeemer lives, and that as the last he will stand upon the earth.” Considering that he knew nothing of Jesus Christ at the time, he still believes that there’s a redeemer for him. I find it very interesting that there seems to be many passages in Job that foreshadow things to come.

Zophar, in chapter 20, talks about how the wicked will be dealt with and reminds Job “that the elation of the wicked is brief, the joy of the godless lasts but a moment.” (v5) In a way, that’s a comforting statement. As we look around and cry about injustice in our world today or see evil people who have lots of wealth, beauty, health, whatever, it is a reminder that all of that is temporary. We Christians will have a joy that will be everlasting and that God’s justice will prevail in the end. It does not seem, to me, however, that it is a consolation to Job. He seems to wish for the wicked to pay for their sins now. But he does state, “Can anyone teach God knowledge, since he judges those that are on high?” (v21:22) as if to remind them all of God’s infinite knowledge. Job has not lost his faith, rather he is wrestling with the fact that life isn’t fair this side of Heaven and why that is so.

We all know that God has a plan; the Bible tells us so. I know that sometimes for me, I wish for just a glimpse of that plan and how I fit into it all. There are many days when I don’t feel like there really is a purpose for my life. I’m here, but why? Unending days of work, home, family is many times depressing for me and I – pridefully, I guess – wish that there was much more in store for me. I’m sure Job must have felt the same way during his trials and I’m sure he’d be amazed to see what came of it and how God has used it over the centuries.

Leave a Reply

