Overcoming fear and anxiety

“For I know what I have planned for you,” says the LORD. “I have plans to prosper you, not to harm you. I have plans to give you a future filled with hope.” ~Jeremiah 29:11

As I prepare for my trip to Israel, I find my worries and fears are crowding out the initial excitement of adventure. I am overwhelmed with the myriad of details to be addressed. As my mind mulls over all these thought, I am drawn to Jeremiah 29:11. The Lord’s plans are to prosper me, not harm me. I truly believe this trip will be life-changing, but I have to look past the immediate insecurities and trust where God will take me.

Part of my preparations include a four-week Bible reading plan. Today’s reading of Deuteronomy 8:6-20 gave me plenty to think about. It talks about the Promised Land the Israelites were about to enter. A land of plenty where God has provided for all their needs. But, Moses also issues a warning about not forgetting God, and His commandments, and to remember who provided for them all through their journey out of Egypt.

As I continue to get ready for my journey, I need to remember to thank God for all he has provided me, including the ability to go on this trip. I will be journeying to the same Promised Land, where I hope to gain a deeper relationship with God.

Lord, please give me the peace I need to properly prepare for this journey, both in spirit and details. Please keep the whole group of us safe during our trip next month and bring us all safely back to our families. Lord, please quell the worries and fears that threaten to keep me from seeing what you have in store for me. Thank you for all that you provide me, each and every day. In Jesus’ name. Amen.

Leave a Reply

