Doubt and Insecurity

I am leading a Bible study group on a book titled, A Confident Heart: How to Stop Doubting Yourself and Live in the Security of God’s Promises, by Renee Swope of Proverbs 31 Ministries. I was writing out the answer to the following question, and decided to post my answer here as a blog post.

Question: Do you ever feel like you are the only one who struggles with insecurity or doubt? Why or why not?

I thought this was a “funny” question to choose, considering I thought most of us [in the group] would say “yes” and “no” as an answer.

I know for me, obviously, I’m not the only one who struggles. I know that everyone struggles, to some degree, with an insecurity or doubt in their life.

But, there are those times when I’m feeling really depressed and I feel like I’m the only one in the world who must feel that way; that no one else is in as deep a pit as I am as I try to scratch and claw my own way out.

As I write this, I am reminded that Jesus too, must have felt some insecurity and doubt as he prepared to give his life for us. Why else would he pray to have “this cup removed from me”? (Matthew 26:39) It is a reminder that He, too, faced many of the same problems and feelings as we face and that He understands our hearts.

Verses 1-3 in Psalm 40 also come to mind, when I think about trying to find my own way out life’s “pits.”

1 I relied completely on the LORD,
and he turned toward me
and heard my cry for help.
2  He lifted me out of the watery pit,
out of the slimy mud.
He placed my feet on a rock
and gave me secure footing.
3  He gave me reason to sing a new song,
praising our God.
May many see what God has done,
so that they might swear allegiance to him and trust in the LORD!

We may continue to study the Bible, and other books, in an effort to find our way permanently into the light, but we need to remember that many times we must cry for help [pray] to have the strength to endure the journey from the pit and to keep standing in the Truth, even when doubt and insecurities try to take us over and send us back in.

Let us pray…

Dear Lord, you know our hearts; you know our doubts and insecurities. As we study your Word, we cry out for help. Please lift us out of our “pits” and place our feet on secure footing. Give us the strength to continue to stand, even when we feel like falling down. Please help us to overcome our doubts and insecurities and give us a new song of praise to You. Help us to shine Your light so that others will see You and praise You. In Jesus’ name. AMEN!

Leave a Reply

