Love, Dove: messages in my chocolate

Someone at work brought in Dove chocolates the other day. I find it interesting that they’ve chosen to incorporate messages on the insides of the wrappers. I’m sure it’s a marketing strategy to get people to buy more, but it makes me think just how easy it can be to spread an encouraging word to others around us.

I thought it would be fun to post my “Love, Dove” messages. Yes, I probably ate too many, but sometimes ya gotta just go for it!

  • Get a good night’s sleep.
  • Clear your mind, and enjoy this moment.
  • Feel good about today.
  • Sing along with the elevator music. (This would be easier to do if there was actually an elevator in my office building…LOL.)
  • Follow your instincts.
  • Encourage your sense of daring.
  • Be mischievous. It feels good.

I find that with this busy pace of life, I don’t think to encourage those around me. I’m usually too tired or stressed out and, instead, tear them down in my anger and frustration. I spend my waking moments hung up on all that I have to do that I get tunnel vision and don’t think about others, especially those closest to me. Sometimes, just a quick email or text to let someone know you’re thinking about them or a little note in a lunch box can go a long way to encouraging someone else. I can’t remember the last time I put a note in my husband’s lunch box, so maybe it’s time for one. 🙂

“Therefore encourage one another and build each other up…” 1 Thessalonians 5:11

We should all try to widen our field of vision and encourage others. I’m sure the others around me feel just as busy, tired, or stressed as I am. That little bit of encouragement I can freely provide – without expecting anything in return – is something that could really change the course of another person’s day.

What is your favorite way to give encouraging words to someone you know? Who will you encourage this week?

Leave a Reply

