When you don’t like what you do

I’ve recently been revamping my “old” resume, mainly because I feel I may be missing out on career opportunities. One of the first things to go was the “objective” section, since “experts” now say it should be a professional headline.

I spent many hours reading about crafting the perfect headline and trying to come up with my headline, which ended up being this:

Small Business Manager with adaptable computer and office skills

Specializing in running a small office using a variety of technology.

But the more I look at my resume, and my LinkedIn profile, the more I question if I want to continue on that career path. Yes, I’m good at what I do, but I don’t know if I still like what I do.

I stay stuck in the familiar because it pays the bills, but I don’t want to get out of bed in the morning. I can’t seem to figure out what type of career change to make, if any, if I’m just feeling stuck in a rut, or if what I feel is just all in my head. I’ve read dozens of online articles and blog posts, but I feel I still have more questions than answers when it comes to figuring out just what it is I want to do for the next 15-20 working years of my life.

The sad thing is that I don’t know that I’ll ever be brave enough to change careers or go to another company.

How about you? Have you been brave enough to venture in a new direction or are you like me and just decide to stay where things are familiar and safe?

 

3 thoughts on “When you don’t like what you do

Leave a Reply

